RSS Feed

Why Complain?

Rickie Lee Jones was complaining on her Facebook page. I composed a response but couldn’t post it. I love Rickie’s musical work but her sense of reality needs a lot of work. Maybe I’ve pissed her off with my obviously right leaning comments one time too many and she blocked me from posting. Hey, no big deal; I can always blog my response. I mean, why let it go to waste? So here it is: 

Why are you still complaining about the nuclear reactors over in Japan? What other choice is their when people insist on their ‘give me convenience or give me death’ mindset? And we’re all guilty, we just don’t like to admit it. 

I can look out of my studio and see the tops of two nuclear reactors. Then I walk over to my equipment and turn everything on. My amplifier and everything works because of that reactor. I couldn’t get that kind of service from wind turbines without chopping up hundreds of birds or from a solar array that would cost me out the ass. Then I’d have to fill the attic with bio-hazardous batteries to do any recording at night. I’m a musician, thus, I’m not rich.

I have to record early in the morning while it is cool, because I only use fans in my home. It will be too hot beneath the headphones later in the day, besides, I know that everyone in the entire city will have their air conditioners on full blast. Sure enough, at 4:15 P.M., the voltage on my Furman power conditioner shows 108 volts at the outlet. I can’t use my recording equipment with voltage that low without risking damage. It is 97 degrees outside. My fridge is running and my fans are on. The hot water heater stays off except for about three times a week. How many of you folks bitching and whining on this thread are making these kinds of sacrifices?

The only other option would be to have the professor and Gilligan come over and pedal bicycle powered generators like mad and that ain’t gonna happen.

The way I see it, as long as everyone wants the convenience of television with 5.1 surround sound, lights at night, refrigeration, or even power for their hybrid and electric cars, that nuclear plant is being used whether people like it or not. 44% of our power in the US comes from coal fired nuclear and another 20% comes from natural gas, so you’re using fossil fuel, I don’t care how environmentally conscious you think you are. These are your choices and all the complaining in the world won’t change a damned thing.

About Johnny Nowhere

Johnny Nowhere is a songwriter/composer and owner of Hell Paving Company, music publisher. Johnny doesn't really exist outside of the music industry and Facebook. He is simply a figment of my imagination.

Leave a Reply

